Small digital keyboards - How useful are they

Discuss the digital alternatives to the acoustic piano

Postby Paganini » Sat Oct 22, 2005 6:47 pm

I studied piano years ago and want to start again. I am considering one of those 61 key digial keyboards(for space reasons), but the abbreviated number of keys concerns me. Can most intermediate level piano pieces be played on them? I learned a couple of Chopin Preludes when I was taking lessons; what are the chances this kind of keyboard will be able to handle them?

Thanks

Edited By Dr. John Zeigler - PEP Editor on 1130086334
Pugnani
Paganini

Postby 65-1074818729 » Sun Oct 23, 2005 3:02 pm

Paganini ,

I started with a 61 key keyboard a number of years ago, to see if I was going to be interested enough to take piano studies seriously. That was adequate for less than a year when it became apparent that a full size keyboard/piano would be needed to make serious gains. I then purchased an upright acoustic piano and that made noticeable difference in my progress.

My situation was somewhat different than yours in that I had no previous experience in music. I wanted to find out if I had the interest and ability to learn piano before investing in a full size instrument. You have some past experience therefore you have a good idea what is involved.

Personally, I feel that if you plan on pursuing piano studies in a serious fashion, you will probably not be satisfied with the smaller instrument for long.

I have hyperlinked below a page for you from the Piano Education Page which may be of assistance.

Digital Piano

Good Luck

AFlat :)
65-1074818729

Postby Stretto » Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:29 pm