Piano exams ... grades - Who does piano exams?ameb,royal conser,

Like to talk with other young piano students? This is the place!

Postby Tranquillo » Sat Sep 08, 2007 5:35 am

I am a piano student in Australia exams here are taken by many students. Many students do grades. Just wondering if anybody does do piano exams if so, which board? Oh and if you dont mind stating which county - (I heard that exams arent real big in other countries)

(Trinity College London (TCL)
Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music (ABRSM)
Australia Music Examination Board (AMEB)
Australia New Zealand Cultral Arts (ANZCA)...
Royal Conservatory of Music Canada (RCM)
etc)

I do AMEB exams and live in Australia :;):

Edited By Becibu on 1189820648
Music is organised sound
Tranquillo

Postby Tranquillo » Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:27 am

So nobody does grades? (you can state that you dont do grades too)
Music is organised sound
Tranquillo

Postby 112-1182392787 » Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:19 am

So nobody does grades? (you can state that you dont do grades too)

Well I do, sort of ... but officially I'm a violin student who has picked up piano again ... and my violin went all over the place so the grade isn't sure anymore. I did the RCM rudimentary intermediate theory exam a few weeks ago. Oh, and I'm not a young student: I'm a rather old student with adult children.

If I can still fit in the box to answer your question though: Canada has the RCM (Royal Conservatory). I think there's and RCM in Great Britain (?) and elsewhere, but don't know if they have the same program and standards. I did read though, before doing the theory exam, that exam time and date have to be the same "all over the world".

Edited By pianissimo on 1189444891
112-1182392787

Postby Tranquillo » Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:41 pm

Thanks for letting me know. I have heard that in the states there is no grading system or examination board(s).