Alfred or music tree? - How do they correlate?

Discuss the pros and cons of various "methods" with other teachers

Postby celia » Sat Apr 19, 2008 9:21 pm

Hi everyone. I am this week going to an interview to take over from some-one as a piano teacher at a school. I have no experience piano teaching but I have been doing some research. The kids I would be teaching have been learning the Alfred method for about a year, but through research on the internet I would rather be teaching the Music Tree. would it make sense to switch them over or incorporate this method? would it be possible to finish the Alfred book they are on and then switch over, and if so, does anyone know which levels correspond roughly in these two methods? I have been looking at piano books on amazon but I can't look in a local shop as you have to buy the Music Tree mail order in NZ where I live. I would appreciate any advice.
Regards, Celia.
celia

Postby celia » Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:36 pm

Hello again. The guy showed me the first Alfred book for young children and I was actually astounded how similar to Music Tree it was!! Most people would conclude that clearly one has been copied from the other. I have been offered this job so I really would appreciate any comments on this or my other post. Celia.
celia

Postby Dr. John Zeigler - PEP Ed » Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:41 pm

Welcome, Celia,

You might want to check out our Piano Methods page, where you'll find descriptions and reviews of a number of the major methods. These include both the strengths and weaknesses of the methods we have reviewed on PEP. You'll also find links to the detailed reviews on that page.
All religions, arts and sciences are branches of the same tree. All these aspirations are directed toward ennobling man's life, lifting it from the sphere of mere physical existence and leading the individual towards freedom. - Albert Einstein
Dr. John Zeigler - PEP Ed
Site Admin

Postby Stretto » Thu May 01, 2008 7:27 am