Familar/easy pieces

Discuss the piano literature and how to teach and learn it

Postby montana » Sun Jul 24, 2005 7:47 pm

All though I've been playing piano for 20 years, I've just started teaching myself classiacal music. I'm working through Thompson Book II and playing other select pieces I find. In bookII there is Chopin prelude #7 Op.28 and I've found Chopin Preludes 4 and 20 which I'm working on. My question is can you suggust pieces like these which 1. are the original not an arrangement, 2. are famliar pieces I and the general public would recognize and 3. are one page long. Ant suggestions would be appreciated

Postby 108-1121887355 » Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:25 pm

One page long rather limits the selection. Try "SheetMusic.com" or "Amazon" and they will often give information on the number of pages and somethimes you can 'look inside' to see the notation. Any Schirmer editiions are not watered down. There is usually a place to ask questions and you could ask if the edition is original. Sheet Music answers quickly. You might not want to order on line as you have to pay shipping and your local music store should be giving you a discount. I do order, however, when I cannot find something locally. With your oder, you will receive a shipping discount for the next one.If I run across music as I prepare for a new year, I will sned the ideas along.

Postby montana » Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:14 am

You are right after talking with another member I should revise my criteria. The piece can be two pages long, can be an arrangement but has to be something people will know and not real difficult to play. Something I can play as backround music in a hotel or restaraunt .

Postby Stretto » Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:57 pm

Has your criteria changed to any style of original music or arrangements that can be played as backround music or are you mainly looking for classical music as backround music?