Music education-comparing different instrumentalis - Different musciains?

All topics musical, not specifically piano-related

Postby Tranquillo » Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:31 pm

As a voice and piano student, I have noticed that there is a lot of weight put onto certain areas of music depending on the instrument. As a piano student, I have noticed that teachers like to form a musician, the nature of the instrument involves a the person to provide their own harmonies, in other words accompanying themselves. On the other hand in the vocal world there is more collaborating that goes on. I will write more but if anyone has any contributions that would be worth discussing please leave your thoughts. I will respond with my own experiences, though I am limited in experience I must say.
Music is organised sound
Tranquillo

Postby Dr. John Zeigler - PEP Ed » Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:50 am

Welcome back!

As a longtime choral musician and pianist with limited ability, I would have to say that playing the piano is a lot harder - for precisely the reasons you have indicated, if I understand your post correctly. Teachers of piano must get across to the student that the pianist must learn to balance lines in each hand so as to make it appear that more than one instrument is present (e.g. in many Bach works) or that the one instrument is providing a rich musical environment. It's not enough just to get the notes and timing right in one part, as it is in choral performance. The pianist has to think on several levels and worry about the constantly changing interplay of the hands. Piano teachers have a tough job! :)
All religions, arts and sciences are branches of the same tree. All these aspirations are directed toward ennobling man's life, lifting it from the sphere of mere physical existence and leading the individual towards freedom. - Albert Einstein
Dr. John Zeigler - PEP Ed
Site Admin

Postby Tranquillo » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:03 pm

Thanks John!