What styles of music do you play? - What styles do you play?

All topics musical, not specifically piano-related

What styles of music do you play? - What styles do you play?

Jazz
11%
Classical
89%
Blues
No votes
Rock
No votes
Pop
No votes

Total votes : 9

Postby Beckywy » Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:02 pm

Most of the threads have a classical feeling to them. How many of you play other genres besides classical?
"The real purpose of studying music-to unite ourselves with our special gifts in such a way that one would add strength to the other" Seymour Bernstein
Beckywy

Postby 65-1074818729 » Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:01 pm

Most of my piano experience so far has been in the classics. As a student, I am following the RCM system and most of the music in the RCM system is of the classical genre. I have learned a few other pieces, such as show tunes, a bit of rock & roll etc. , but not very many.

I find by the time I practice my RCM pieces, scales, reading practice etc. there is not much time left for learning other pieces. I am going to make a concerted effort in the near future to learn some Blues pieces. After I finish grade eight of the RCM, I will probably learn blues and jazz. At least that is my plan at this time.

How about yourself Beckywy. What genres of music do you like to play?

:cool:
65-1074818729

Postby Beckywy » Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:22 am

Hi AFlat,

Well, Saturday nights, my mom has the kids, so that is my jam night. I have musician friends come over to my house, and we play 12 bar blues - because it's the easiest to get together and play together.

I started jazz piano lessons with a good jazz pianist, and I can tell you, it's very different from conventional classical piano lessons. Most of it is by rote. Jazz voicing - there's a formula to follow which is very easy to learn, and applies to almost all pieces. I've completed my ARCT, and after which, I was searching for the "what else?", and started the jazz. It's a lot of fun.