Is there a best instrument to begin with? - Best instrument to begin music lessons

Play more than piano? Interested in a different instrument, including voice? Talk about it here.

Postby Stretto » Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:57 pm

As a piano teacher, I've had many parents want their child to start with piano as their first instrument when taking music lessons. The reasoning that parents have is that learning to play the piano first provides the foundation or basis for all other musical learning. I've had students who really want to learn to play the saxaphone, drums, take voice, violin, etc. but their parents want them to take beginning piano first before moving onto the students instrument of choice.

I took clarinet in school for a year before switching to piano and I think it actually helped in some ways because I already knew the "basics" outside of the bass clef notes, of course, and only had to read one line of music at a time to start, rather than two lines of music. I remember it being a pretty easy transition to piano after taking another instrument first.

What are some other's opinions about whether it is important to learn piano first? Is there some advantages to learning piano as a foundation before learning other instruments?

:)
Stretto

Postby Dr. Bill Leland » Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:25 pm

Far and away the biggest advantage of taking piano in the early stages of any music training is the fact that you have to confront the entire texture of the music yourself, instead of just a single line melody. This has nothing to do with the physical problems--I'm talking about the mental/ear thing.