Muscle pain - What causes it?

Play more than piano? Interested in a different instrument, including voice? Talk about it here.

Postby 73-1078374881 » Tue Mar 16, 2004 9:02 am

For a long time, I've had to deal with forearm pain when playing the piano. I think maaaaaybe this could be caused by playing the violin, because I've noticed that playing the violin develops all these fine little muscles that get bothered if I even lift something the wrong way! Or, it could be that I don't play the piano correctly (which is a very good possibility since I've been self-taught since eighth grade)! I'm VERY eager to hear feedback on this! Does anyone else have this problem? What do you think causes it and how do you deal with it?

Edited By IPlayTheViolinSoThere on 1079449414
73-1078374881

Postby Dr. Bill Leland » Tue Mar 16, 2004 12:18 pm

I.P., you should not have pain when you play the piano OR the violin! You are doing something wrong--it's not because you're using a different set of muscles. The small muscles in the hands and the long muscles in the arms must cooperate and not fight each other and cause tension, which in turn causes you to force against the rigidity and experience pain. For starters, check and see if you're holding your shoulders and neck tense when you play.

But I strongly suggest that you find a good teacher and stop trying to teach yourself. Piano technique is not a do-it-yourself skill, I don't how many self-help methods, midnight TV infomercials, salesmen or con artists say it is--not if you're trying to do more than learn a couple of Christmas Carols, anyway. Please think about this.

Dr. Bill.
Technique is 90 per cent from the neck up.
Dr. Bill Leland

Postby Mins Music » Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:27 pm