considering Grade 8 after 15 year gap...

Technique, methods and advice for learners

considering Grade 8 after 15 year gap...

Postby celia » Mon Mar 15, 2010 7:47 pm

Hi there, I studied piano from the age of 5 - 18, and passed Grade 7 ABRSM in 1995. Then adult life took over, the piano lessons stopped and I have never got around to doing Grade 8 although it has always been a vague goal for this lifetime... I know it will be lots of work, I still love playing the piano and I have been teaching for nearly 2 years, although I don't perform much! I know all the scales etc and have good note-reading ability... I think the main challenge will be training my fingers and my mind to play at speed (and with good technique) again after all these years...
So 3 questions:
Do you think I can achieve this if I work hard enough?
How long is it likely to take before I can sit the exam?
And most importantly...
How much practice would I ideally have to fit in each day whilst working towards this goal???
I would love to get anyone's thoughts on this!
Many thanks,
Celia.
celia

Re: considering Grade 8 after 15 year gap...

Postby Tranquillo » Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:06 am

Hi there, I studied piano from the age of 5 - 18, and passed Grade 7 ABRSM in 1995. Then adult life took over, the piano lessons stopped and I have never got around to doing Grade 8 although it has always been a vague goal for this lifetime... I know it will be lots of work, I still love playing the piano and I have been teaching for nearly 2 years, although I don't perform much! I know all the scales etc and have good note-reading ability... I think the main challenge will be training my fingers and my mind to play at speed (and with good technique) again after all these years...