Practicing technique

Technique, methods and advice for learners

Postby Dan » Mon Jul 30, 2007 8:05 am

Hi! I’m new to the discussion. Briefly, I’m a 46 year old piano student; I started taking lessons as a complete beginner at the age of 37 (when my kids started private lessons). I’ve worked really hard since then, and I’m presently playing at the level of the Bach 2-part inventions/little preludes, some Kuhlau, Mozart K545, etc. Life is really busy, and I’m lucky if I can get 30-45 minute practice most days. I’m also no longer taking lessons. For the past year and a half or so, I have stopped practicing technique, and just worked on pieces. My question is, if I want to get back into technique practice (I feel my playing is suffering) and only want to spend 10-15 minutes tops on tech, what should I work on? When I quit lessons, I was working on my RCM gr. 8, so I was starting on 4-octave HT scales, 4-octave arpeggios HT with inversions, and 4-note chords broken and solid, but it was all just too intense. I would really appreciate some guidance on this, and thanks in advance,
Dan
Dan

Postby Dr. Bill Leland » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:14 am

Welcome to you, Dan, and best wishes for your continued study.

Regarding techical practice, I'd like to suggest that you begin by reading the six articles on our site under "Technique Matters". I think my own, "Practicing: Who Makes the Decisions?" relates specifically to your question, because the listening, the concentration, and the mental focus involved are far more important than the amount of time spent at the keyboard.

Just click on "Teaching Studio" in the box at upper left, then on the title "Technique Matters".

Stay with us! Conmments and questions from adult students are especially valuable to the forum.

Dr. Bill Leland, Editor at Large.
Technique is 90 per cent from the neck up.
Dr. Bill Leland

Postby Dan » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:37 am

Thanks Dr. bill,