Software suggestion - Sight reading drills for a late beginner

Technique, methods and advice for learners

Postby 98-1151209723 » Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:54 pm

I'm a late beginner (22 years old), but I'm trying to learn as FAST as I can. I'm absolutely obsessed with music theory and composition and am always making music on Finale. But most of my work I can't even play, and I realize that mastering the piano will give me invaluable insight into writing music. So anyway, now that I have bored you with my background: I know that I have nimble fingers, and good technique, I just really want to focus on mastering sight reading. I am hoping that there is a software program where you can connect a keyboard to a PC and do sight reading drills. I envision it as being almost like 'learn to type' software, where you are just given a string of randomly generated notes to play along to, which get progressively harder as you pass them. I know you are probably thinking 'that is exactly what you do with a lesson book!', but the thing is, when I mess up on a book lesson, I go back and fumble around with it a few times until I think I have it down, and at that point memorization has already started to set in. I realize memorization is not a bad thing, but I want a tool to absolutely focus all my energy into sight reading ability. So in the software when I mess up I just keep going and receive a lower score at the end, and maybe it forces me to do another randomly generated string of equal difficulty until I am reading them right. Anyway, thanks for listening, hopefully you know of something which matches close enough to my idea, or maybe something else that you think will help me.
-Brian
98-1151209723

Postby Dr. Bill Leland » Mon Jun 26, 2006 5:59 pm

Hi Brimby, and welcome to the Message Board--we hope you'll stay with us.