Etude experts stop here! - Help, please!

Technique, methods and advice for learners

Postby presto » Tue May 23, 2006 10:18 am

As you may have read in another topic I recently posted, I am very much in need of help to choose an appropriate etude which I must play, in addition to two other pieces, at an audition. Unfortunately, I'm no expert in this, and I hardly know where to begin to look, especially considering that I must find something that is somewhere about the level of at least Conservatory grade 6 or 7, or better yet, 8, and could be learned well by about January.

Needless to say, I would be very grateful for any help or suggestions you can give! If you ever played an etude at an audition, perhaps you could tell me what you had chosen--that might just be what I need.
88 keys--
10 fingers--
No problem!
presto

Postby Christine » Tue May 23, 2006 5:36 pm

Hi Presto,

First of all, I read your other post about your audition. While I was initially sad that you didn't get in, I was very impressed by your enthusiasm. You definitely have a goal and you will achieve it. Good for you for recognizing areas you could improve...it will only make you better in the end. As far as etudes go, I am definitely no expert, but could only tell you studies I like or have done in my past exams. I guess I should ask, do you mean RCM, or Conservatory Canada when you say "Conservatory"? I think the levels are different. I am only familiar with RCM studies. Also, are there any other "specific" requirements with the etude, other than grade level (ie. focusing on a certain technique?). Do you have any RCM studies books?

Christine :)
Christine

Postby Dr. Bill Leland » Wed May 24, 2006 7:51 pm

Dear Presto: