I don't know where to start.

Technique, methods and advice for learners

Postby 83-1102043603 » Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:38 pm

Hi I'm new to the PEP boards, so hello everybody.

OK... I was first introduced to the piano at the tender age of 7 and had only a few lessons before my parents cancelled my lessons.
Back then I was an out-of-doors child (football and the like).

Now I'm almost 25 and work in the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, in London. I work on the front desk there, and have met a lot of really good pianists that are young bright and influentual. In the seven months I've been working at the GSMD I've fallen in love with the piano and would really love to be able to play the piano (well).

Now after over 100 hours sitting at the piano before and after work, I still can't play a piece from start to fininsh, Not even simplified scores.

My music reading skill is abysmal and my co-ordination is too. Although I have learned some parts of some pieces with both hands I am still having a lot of trouble with this.

The pieces I've been trying to play are...
Chopin - Etude No.3 (I heard this and thought I'd at least be able to learn the first few phases (if prases is the correct term) but even they are a lot more complicated than they sound)
Liszt - La Campanella (I only started this today and know I can at least go for a simplified version here but it is still hard)
Gershwin - Rhapsody in Blue (I might just leave this to the professionals)
Richard Clayderman - Ballade pour Adeline (I can play the first part to this for about two minutes then I go wrong and don't know where to go.)

I like all the pieces I'm trying but I get frustrated at just not being able to find the next notes. (sorry I seem to be going on a bit.)

I've met a student at the school that has said she'll give me lessons but she's really busy with ensemble rehearsals.

What I'd really like to know is...