Is a website useful for a music teacher? - The pros and cons of running a website

Talk with other teachers, exchange tips, participate in polls regarding a teaching studio business

Postby 115-1100906333 » Tue Feb 01, 2005 7:54 pm

As a piano teacher I have always found it useful to have a website. Even if it is just for letting potential students find out about the service I offer before starting a series of lessons. I am interested to hear teachers views on how they have used websites to enhance their studio.

Edited By Dr. John Zeigler - PEP Editor on 1119229597
115-1100906333

Postby Dr. John Zeigler - PEP Ed » Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:01 am

I have reviewed in excess of a thousand piano teacher sites in connection with linking them on PEP's Piano Teacher Web Sites page. As with most other things, whether a teaching studio site is useful or not depends on the circumstances and how the site is written. These days, I think teacher sites are most effective when they serve more than one function: information for current students, help for potential students, introducing the teacher (so that new students have a sense of the teacher as a person before they call) and as a source for policy and event information.

I know from e-mails that I've gotten from numerous teachers whose sites we have linked that they have gotten students from their sites that they would have gotten no other way. Perhaps the best example is the case of a teacher in Oregon who got a very good student from Germany who was moving to her area. He saw her web site linked on PEP, visited it, and signed up from Germany.

Of course there are lots of do's and don'ts connected with writing a studio web site, many of which are discussed in my article on PEP, Establishing a Studio Web Site. If anybody is interested in hearing more on that topic, I can post on it later.