Donating music books and supplies?

Talk with other teachers, exchange tips, participate in polls regarding a teaching studio business

Postby PennyJo » Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:51 pm

I am retiring from piano teaching. I have a plethora of music books and teaching aids (as I'm sure you all do!) I have tried selling these things to other area teachers, but I still have a LOT left.

I'm thinking of donating my books and supplies to a charitable organization, but I don't know where to find one that would take these books. Last year I sent several boxes of books down to Louisiana, but the LMTA is no longer accepting books.

Any ideas?
PennyJo

Postby Stretto » Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:21 pm

The local university I attended has a music library and takes donations so you could check to see if any college music libraries would be interested.

After I graduated I called about the use of the music library for alumni and the requirement was a small fee or the donation of one music book.

Or what about passing it down to any students who may be interested in it?
Stretto

Postby 108-1121887355 » Sun Sep 24, 2006 10:44 am

I recently gave away two bags of music books to a young teacher starting out. She was over joyed! You might check for local teachers and ask them if they would like to buy or take some music. There are always yard sales and church fairs. I have donated music there, and much of it sells. (25 - 50 cents is better than nothing and you can feel your books are helping someone to enjoy music.
108-1121887355

Postby Stretto » Sun Sep 24, 2006 4:01 pm

loveapiano wrote:There are always yard sales and church fairs. I have donated music there, and much of it sells. (25 - 50 cents is better than nothing and you can feel your books are helping someone to enjoy music.