Children with challenges - Down's Syndrome

Share your experiences or ask for help with special needs students

Postby 86-1067711887 » Thu Nov 27, 2003 2:19 pm

I am an elementary general music teacher who also teaches privately. I have a 4th grade student with Down's Syndrome who LOVES music. His parents approached me about giving their child lessons - on the piano. I have never taught to this kind of challenge. Suggestions, advice, guidelines appreciated.
86-1067711887

Postby Mins Music » Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:36 pm

What a beautiful oppurtunity you have. Make the lesson lots of fun, very personal, include a lot of music appreciation elements - you play a simple piece while he plays the triangle etc. Despite his age, there are many wonderful books on the market for pre-schoolers/very young preliminary. Emphasise doing, not sitting still and watching/listening[I] Keep the atmosphere calm and loving. You'll no doubt bond more with this child than your other students. Patience, variety, smaller concepts with more time to practise them in different ways - colour, dance, clap, sing as well as playing the piano. He'll love music and he'll love you.[U] Be aware of this. Keep positive and happy and let us know how you're going. :)
"I forget what I was taught, I only remember what I've learnt." - Patrick White, Australian novelist.
Mins Music

Postby 75-1079830936 » Mon Mar 22, 2004 7:58 am

I have two students who have "problems".

One is a boy who has a generalized mental disability, I don't know what he's diagnosed as but he's 11 with a 6yo mentality. Sweet kid. The trick with him is to be very patient and let him be a little bit self-directed. My digital piano has a few voices so his reward is he can play his song in a different voice after he has learned it correctly. Also I let him play Christmas songs in April...it's still music, and he loves it.