Music therapy - Working with an autistic 2 year old...

Share your experiences or ask for help with special needs students

Postby celia » Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:29 pm

I have looked into Music Therapy courses and I have discovered that to become properly qualified and registered it is going to involve a 3 yr music degree followed by a 2 yr masters. Sadly this is more study than I feel I can take on right now...
However...
a friend of mine has a child at my pre-school who is 2 and he has been diagnosed mildly autistic. She was asking me about piano lessons as she knows I have successfully taken on pre-schoolers at age 4. I said it would probably be better to wait until the child is 3 at least. She knows I have no experience of this but she knows I relate well to young children (I already have a great relationship with her son) and she may have heard I'm a good piano teacher (!??)
So anyway I have tentatively offered to start sessions with him in January (when he turns 3) The question is... What to do with him? I have had huge success with the 4 year olds but this is entirely different as he is younger and has speech and communication difficulties. If anyone has any advice for how I could plan these sessions or where I could go for more information (books/websites etc) I would be very appreciative... This will be a big challenge for me but one I hope we could both benefit from!!
celia

Postby Tranquillo » Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:00 pm

HEY CELIA!

I have EXCELLENT NEWS! There is a music therapist in my school, I was talking to my teacher at school and told her I wanted to get into music therapy ... she asked me if I wanted to meet him ... I said "yes" (ofcourse) ... so I am meeting with him on Tuesday next week ... he works with the autistic kids in my highschool. I am so excited! I'll tell you how it goes ... who knows maybe I'd be able to observe a session! :D
Music is organised sound
Tranquillo

Postby celia » Wed Nov 05, 2008 11:24 pm